Team Lakay’s Joshua Pacio earns 6th ONE Championship win

Yuji Shimada, Joshua Pacio

Yuji Shimada, Joshua Pacio

Representing Team Lakay of Baguio City, Philippines, Joshua “The Passion” Pacio, 22, has earned his sixth victory in ONE Championship. In his most recent bout, he defeated a previously unbeaten Thai mixed martial artist.

On July 27, 2018, Pacio competed against Pongsiri “The Smiling Assassin” Mitsatit, 22, of Chiang Mai, Thailand in the strawweight division at “ONE: Reign of Kings” at the SM Mall of Asia Arena in Pasay City, Metro Manila, Philippines. In the first round, referee Yuji Shimada put a stop to the bout when the Filipino contender submitted his Thai opponent via armlock.

The first five ONE Championship athletes to lose to Pacio were Filipino fighters Rabin “The Rock” Catalan, 32, and Roy Doliguez, 36, Thai fighters Kritsada “Dream Man” Kongsrichai, 26, and Dejdamrong “Kru Rong” Sor Amnuaysirichoke, 39, and Chinese fighter Lan Ming Qiang, 24. The only fighters the Team Lakay fighter did not defeat in the promotion were Hayato Suzuki, 32, and reigning ONE Strawweight World Champion Yoshitaka “Nobita” Naito, 34, who are both fighting out of Japan.

By defeating Mitsatit at “ONE: Reign of Kings,” Pacio improved his professional MMA record to 12 wins and 2 losses while the Thai fighter’s record downgraded to 9 wins and 1 loss. Here are the official “ONE: Reign of Kings” results:

  1. Featherweight bout: Xie Bin defeats Sor Sey by Submission (Guillotine) at 1:55 minutes of round 1
  2. Strawweight bout: Rene Catalan defeats Stefer Rahardian by Unanimous Decision (UD) after 3 rounds
  3. ONE Super Series (Muay Thai) Catch Weight (68.0kg) bout: Chamuaktong Fightermuaythai defeats Brown Pinas by Unanimous Decision (UD) after 3 rounds
  4. Strawweight bout: Joshua Pacio defeats Pongsiri Mitstatit by Submission (Armlock) at 3:37 minutes of round 1
  5. ONE Super Series (Muay Thai) Bantamweight bout: Panicos Yusuf defeats Han Zi Hao by Unanimous Decision (UD) after 3 rounds
  6. ONE Super Series (Muay Thai) Catch Weight (72.5kg) bout: Chris Ngimbi defeats Armen Petrosyan by Split Decision (SD) after 3 rounds
  7. Lightweight bout: Garry Tonon defeats Rahul Raju by Submission (Rear Naked Choke) at 3:27 minutes of round 3
  8. Lightweight bout: Eduard Folayang defeats Aziz Pahrudinov by Unanimous Decision (UD) after 3 rounds
  9. Welterweight bout: Renzo Gracie defeats Yuki Kondo by Submission (Rear Naked Choke) at 1:40 minutes of round 2
  10. Lightweight bout: Shinya Aoki defeats Shannon Wiratchai by TKO (Strikes) at 2:16 minutes of round 1
  11. ONE Interim Bantamweight World Championship bout: Kevin Belingon defeats Martin Nguyen by Unanimous Decision (UD) after 5 rounds

For more updates on ONE Championship, please visit, follow us on Twitter and Instagram @ONEChampionship, and like us on Facebook at

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.